• Latest News

    Saturday, March 29, 2014


    Stryken (originally known as Stryker) was a 1980s Christian heavy metal/hard rock band based in the north Austin, Texas suburb of Cedar Park. Using stage names, the group consisted of Dale Streiker (vocals, lead guitar), Stephen Strieker (vocals, rhythm guitar), Joey Knight (drums), and Ezekiel Vade (bass guitar).

    Often characterized as a mere clone of Stryper , Stryken issued several releases on their own private label, Crystal Records, including the 1986 12" single with the tracks, "Rock On" and "Surprise", and the 1987 full-length album, First Strike (which has since been reissued with previously unreleased material).

    The band's lyrics made prominent use of Biblical verses such as the anthemic song, "Crush the Head of Satan", which was a reference to the Old Testament prophetical verse of Genesis 3:15 and the New Testament verse of Romans 16:20. Many believed that the song's figuratively violent lyrics promoted actual physical violence which the band did not deny but rather affirmed with the statement that any such violence was "well directed".

    In June 1987, the members of Stryken were detained by police after disrupting a Mötley Crüe concert in San Antonio, Texas. Carrying a large wooden cross and clad in full body armor (inspired by the theological teaching of the "Armor of God" as found in the sixth chapter of the New Testament book, Ephesians), Stryken first proselytized concertgoers outside of the venue and then proceeded inside to the front of the stage. After being detained by police, the band was released without charges.

    The members of Stryken all used stage names to conceal their true identities. One of the members of Stryken, stage name, Stephen Streiker, (birth name, Stephen Hopkins) has gone on to "repent" of his career in "Christian rock", which he now refers to as, "a contradiction of terms". Today Hopkins serves as an elder and pastor of a "family-integrated" reformed Baptist church in Burnet, Texas, and is the father of sixteen children. He also authored the book, The Cult of Jabez, and the falling away of the church in America.

    STRYKER - Blitzkrieg - Demo 1984 

    1. Blitzkrieg         02:30

    2. Look Away         02:32 
    3. I'm Alright         03:41
    4. Need Your Love 03:56 
    5. Circus Man         04:53
    6. Right of Way         03:40
    7. Cross the Line 04:25
    8. Played                 02:19
    9. It's Over                 04:29

    First Strake -  Full-length 1986

    1. Crush the Head of Satan  
    2. One Way
    3. The Answer
    4. State of Emergency
    5. First Strike
    6. Rock on
    7. The Young Men Have a Vision
    8. Riot

    Rock On -  EP 1986

    1. Rock On
    2. Surprise
    3. Surprise (remix)
    4. Rock On (remix)

    Righteous Metal
    Crucify - BLOODGOOD
    Rock for the King - BARREN CROSS
    Rock On (Remixed Version) - STRYKEN
    Master of the Metal - MESSIAH PROPHET
    Time's End - SAINT
    In His Majesty's Service - JERUSALEM
    Wear Your Colors - RICK CUA
    Love Comes Down - REZ
    Shakin' the House - PETRA
    You Are Loved - ALTAR BOYS
    Rise Up - DANIEL BAND
    Search & Destroy - PHILADELPHIA   

    First Strake - Compilation 2009
    1. Crush the Head of Satan
    2. One Way
    3. The Answer
    4. State of Emergency
    5. First Strike
    6. Rock On
    7. The Young Men Have a Vision
    8. Riot
    9. Surprise
    10. BLITZKRIEG - Stryker / Demo 
    11. Look Away  
                                                                          12.    I'm Alright  
                                                                          13.   Need Your Love  
                                                                          14.   Circus Man  
                                                                          15.   Right of Way 
                                                                          16.   Cross the Line  
                                                                          17.   Played 
                                                                          18.   It's Over

    • Facebook Comments
    • Google Comments

    3 comentarios:

    Hector Sicajan said... April 21, 2014 at 5:43 PM

    interesante... muy buen aporte bro... Bendiciones

    Anonymous said... June 29, 2014 at 5:56 AM

    There music was terrible.

    Anonymous said... October 18, 2014 at 9:14 PM

    And you are a nigger

    Post a Comment

    Item Reviewed: Stryken Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Anthony Martinez
    Scroll to Top