• Latest News

    Thursday, September 29, 2016

    September 29, 1985: Mass released their first album "New Birth"

    Published on September 29th, 2016 | by Anthony Martinez

    On September 29, 1985, a band of Boston called  "Mass", released their first full length album "New Birth". Although the band had already been formed in the late 70s with the name of Axes, they failed to launch any record with that name. In 1984 they released a self-titled EP, but "New Birth" of 1985 was the first full-length album of the band.

    The album contains 10 tracks, among which we highlight the song "Do you love me". Also released as a single 45 rpm, "Do You Love Me", went to Number One at one of the local Boston radio stations and hit Billboard's charts. The video for this song had rotation on MTV that year, becoming one of the first video clips of a band with Christian messages in having rotation on MTV, for that moment, only Stryper, Resurection band, DeGarmo & Key and After the Fire had their videos on MTV. Well, but that's another story ...

    The album "New Birth" was recorded and mastered at Bearsville Studio, New York & Genetic Studios, England. New Birth was released under the RCA label, and was produced by Tony Platt.

    Track List
    01 Too Far Gone
    02 Crying Alone
    03 Time
    04 Back To Me
    05 Do You Love Me
    06 New Birth
    07 Left Behind
    08 Voyager (Look for the Edge)
    09 Day Without You

    10 Watch Her Walk

    Joey "Vee" Vadala - Drums
    Gene D'Itria - Guitars
    Louis D'Augusta - Vocals

    Kevin Varrio - Bass

    • Facebook Comments
    • Google Comments

    0 comentarios:

    Post a Comment

    Item Reviewed: September 29, 1985: Mass released their first album "New Birth" Rating: 5 Reviewed By: Anthony Martinez
    Scroll to Top